Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry


Torri, Giangiacomo

Joined Jul 13 2017
Send a Message
Add as Friend
Flag as Inappropriate
General Info

Site Memberships

Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry

Recent Activity
About Me
Senior Resercher ISTITUTO DI RICERCHE CHIMICHE E BIOCHIMICHE "G. RONZONI" Date from 2016 ? Dr Giangiacomo Torri studied bioorganic chemistry at University of Pavia. He joined the research group of Prof. B. Casu at the ?G. Ronzoni? Institute in 1973. He was Harold Hibbert Fellow (1979-1980) at the "Department of Chemistry", of McGill University of Montreal (Canada), guest of prof. A.S. Perlin as visiting scientist. From 2000 up to 2015 he was the Director of the Ronzoni Research Institute. He is expert in the chemistry and biochemistry of bioactive carbohydrate polymers. He is especially involved in studies dealing with structural elucidation and modulation of sequences of glycosaminoglycans (GAGs), aimed at establishing structure-activity relationships. He contributed to the development of advanced approaches (especially by NMR spectroscopy and mass spectrometry) to the characterization of the structure, binding properties and complex formations of GAGs. He also contributed to the determination of the three-dimensional structure of GAG sequences both in the absence and in the presence of binding proteins. He has wide experience in the coordination of interdisciplinary national and international research projects. He has over two hundred and fifty of scientific publications and patents. Since 2003 he has been President of the ?Consortium for NMR research in biotechnology and material science?. Since 2007 he has been experts for the working party on Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectrometry of EU Pharmacopoeia Commission (EDQM).

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

You must be a member to comment on this page. Sign In or Register


Follow the ACS on Twitter!

Public Notice - 2018

The annual Tax Return and books of the U.S. Advisory Commmittee for the International Carbohydrate Symposia Inc., for 2017 are available for public inspection. Contact Peter Andreana. (USPS - 05/15/2018 - 3882710109).

Public Notice - 2017

The annual Tax Return and books of the U.S. Advisory Commmittee for the International Carbohydrate Symposia Inc., for 2016 are available for public inspection.  Contact Peter Andreana.  (USPS - 04/08/2017 - 0001191488).

29th International Carbohydrate Symposium, Lisbon Portugal

256th National Meeting Countdown - Boston, MA

257th National Meeting Countdown - Orlando, FL

Latest News

Congratulations are in order for David Crich for winning the 2018 Whistler Award.  David is the Schaap Professor of Organic Chemistry at Wayne State University, Detroit, MI.  He will receive the award at the upcoming ICS 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal.

Latest News

Kamil Godula named 2017 Cottrell Scholar!

Congratulations are in order for Kamil Gudla who has been selected as a 2017 Cottrell Scholar by the Research Corporation.  Please see News for more info.

Latest News

Laura Kiessling is the first woman to win the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry, awarded annually for creativity in organic chemistry or bioorganic and medicinal chemistry.  CONGRATULATIONS LAURA!

Latest News

The CARB Division wants to congratulate winners of the following 2017 CARB Division Awards:

Melville L. Wolfrom Award - Nicola Pohl, Indiana University, USA

Horace S. Isbell Award - Hien M. Nguyen, University of Iowa, USA

David Y. Gin Young Investigator Award - Ratmir Derda, University of Alberta, Canada

Derek Horton Award - Lajos Szente, The CycloLab Ltd., Hungary

Latest News

Election Results 2018

Congratulations are in order for:

Alexei Demchenko has won the Chair-Elect 

Amit Basu and Zbigniew Witczak have won Member-At-Large

Xuefei Huang has won Awards Committee

Geert-Jan Boons has won the Treasurer

Anthony Serianni has won the Councilor

Hien Nguyen has won the Althernate Councilor

Latest News

Congratulations to Prof. Carolyn Bertozzi on recieving the 2017 ACS Arthur C. Cope Award.  For more information please see this link!

Latest News

The 2017 winner of the Hudson Award is David Crich, Schaap Professor of Organic Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry at Wayne State University, Detroit, MI.

For more information click here!

More Latest News

Check out the Division's Fall 2018 Newsletter!

Ideas for Future Carbohydrate Division Symposia

If you have ideas for future Carbohydrate Division symposia, these can be directed to Steven J. Sucheck, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Toledo, OH 43606 USA. Phone: 1-419-530-1930  Email: steve.sucheck@utoledo.edu

Google +1 Button