Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry


Claude S. Hudson Award Recipients

C. S. Hudson 1946 F. J. Bates 1947

No award in 1948 F. W. Zerban 1949

W. B. Newkirk 1950  W. D. Horne 1951

M. L. Wolfrom 1952 G. P. Meade 1953

H. S. Isbell 1954 K. R. Brown 1955

J. M. D. Brown 1956 J. K. Dale 1957

H. O. L. Fischer 1958 P. W. Pigman 1959

R. L. Whistler 1960 J. C. Sowden 1961

F. Smith 1962 N. K. Richtmyer 1963

D. French 1964 C. G. Caldwell 1965 

R. U. Lemieux 1966 W.Z. Hassid 1967

H. G. Fletcher Jr. 1968 J. K. N. Jones 1969 

N. F. Kennedy 1970 R. S. Tipson 1971

D. Horton 1972 R. W. Jeanloz 1973

W. W. Binkley 1974 H. W. Baer 1975

S. M. Cantor 1976 J. J. Fox 1977

M. Heidelberger 1978 A. S. Perlin 1979

G. A. Jeffrey 1980 C. E. Ballou 1981

S. Hanessian 1982 B. Lindberg 1983

L. Anderson 1984 H. Paulsen 1985

G. O. Aspinall 1986 S. J. Angyal 1987

L. Hough 1988 W. A. Szarek 1989

B. O. Fraser-Reid 1990 P. J. Garegg 1991

A. Kobata 1992 I. J. Goldstein 1993

J. F. Vliegenthart 1994 T. Ogawa 1995


After 1995 award is given every other year. 


S. J. Danishefsky 1997 Chi-Huey Wong 1999

Y. C. Lee 2001 R. J. Linhardt 2003

D. R. Bundle 2005 P. Sinay 2007

P. H. Seeberger 2009 R. Schmidt 2011

L. L. Kiessling 2013 G.-J. Boons 2015

D. Crich 2017 

Follow the ACS on Twitter!

Public Notice - 2018

The annual Tax Return and books of the U.S. Advisory Commmittee for the International Carbohydrate Symposia Inc., for 2017 are available for public inspection. Contact Peter Andreana. (USPS - 05/15/2018 - 3882710109).

Public Notice - 2017

The annual Tax Return and books of the U.S. Advisory Commmittee for the International Carbohydrate Symposia Inc., for 2016 are available for public inspection.  Contact Peter Andreana.  (USPS - 04/08/2017 - 0001191488).

29th International Carbohydrate Symposium, Lisbon Portugal

256th National Meeting Countdown - Boston, MA

257th National Meeting Countdown - Orlando, FL

Latest News

Congratulations are in order for David Crich for winning the 2018 Whistler Award.  David is the Schaap Professor of Organic Chemistry at Wayne State University, Detroit, MI.  He will receive the award at the upcoming ICS 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal.

Latest News

Kamil Godula named 2017 Cottrell Scholar!

Congratulations are in order for Kamil Gudla who has been selected as a 2017 Cottrell Scholar by the Research Corporation.  Please see News for more info.

Latest News

Laura Kiessling is the first woman to win the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry, awarded annually for creativity in organic chemistry or bioorganic and medicinal chemistry.  CONGRATULATIONS LAURA!

Latest News

The CARB Division wants to congratulate winners of the following 2017 CARB Division Awards:

Melville L. Wolfrom Award - Nicola Pohl, Indiana University, USA

Horace S. Isbell Award - Hien M. Nguyen, University of Iowa, USA

David Y. Gin Young Investigator Award - Ratmir Derda, University of Alberta, Canada

Derek Horton Award - Lajos Szente, The CycloLab Ltd., Hungary

Latest News

Election Results 2018

Congratulations are in order for:

Alexei Demchenko has won the Chair-Elect 

Amit Basu and Zbigniew Witczak have won Member-At-Large

Xuefei Huang has won Awards Committee

Geert-Jan Boons has won the Treasurer

Anthony Serianni has won the Councilor

Hien Nguyen has won the Althernate Councilor

Latest News

Congratulations to Prof. Carolyn Bertozzi on recieving the 2017 ACS Arthur C. Cope Award.  For more information please see this link!

Latest News

The 2017 winner of the Hudson Award is David Crich, Schaap Professor of Organic Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry at Wayne State University, Detroit, MI.

For more information click here!

More Latest News

Check out the Division's Fall 2018 Newsletter!

Ideas for Future Carbohydrate Division Symposia

If you have ideas for future Carbohydrate Division symposia, these can be directed to Steven J. Sucheck, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Toledo, OH 43606 USA. Phone: 1-419-530-1930  Email: steve.sucheck@utoledo.edu

Google +1 Button