Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry


CARB Division Awards

Nomination deadline is June 15, 2018 for the 2019 Claude S. Hudson Award, Melville L. Wolfrom Award, Derek Horton Award in Industrial Carbohydrate Chemistry, Horace S. Isbell Award, and David Y. Gin New Investigator Award, which will be presented at the Spring 2019 ACS National Meeting in Orlando, FL.  Nomination Form

The Claude S. Hudson Award was established by the Division in 1946 to recognize outstanding contributions to carbohydrate chemistry in education, research, or applications. The biennial award is presented in odd-numbered years.  N.B. - The Hudson Award Nomination Form is active this year for the 2019 award.  Nomination Form

The Melville L. Wolfrom Award acknowledges outstanding service to the Division and to the field of carbohydrate chemistry.  Nomination Form

• The Derek Horton Award in Industrial Carbohydrate Chemistry Award acknowledges distinguished achievements in and outstanding contributions to industrial carbohydrate chemistry.  *Deadline for the nomination is June 15th, 2018.  Nomination Form

The Horace S. Isbell Award acknowledges excellence in and promise of continued quality of contribution to research in carbohydrate chemistry. The winner must be under the age of 45 at the time of the award.  Nomination Form

The David Y. Gin New Investigator Award acknowledges and encourages outstanding contributions to research in carbohydrate chemistry by scientists in the first seven years of their independent career.  Nomination Form

More Information about Awards and Awardees

ACS Fellows Program - Open for 2018 Nominations

The ACS Fellows Program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 “to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to Science, the Profession, and the Society.

Link to Nomination Site

Deadline for 2018 Nominations: April 1, 2018

ACS Fellows from CARB Division

International Carbohydrate Organization - Whistler Award 2018

Congratulations to David Crich for winning the 2018 Whistler Award.

David will present his work at the upcoming ICS 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal